Faculty & Staff

The Electrical Engineering faculty are dedicated to refining the ever-changing body of knowledge specified by basic engineering principles and modern high-technology developments. The support staff is likewise dedicated to providing student assistance as well as technical support of the faculty. The Electrical Engineering faculty is primarily tenured and tenure-track full-time professors. Additional academic and curricular support is provided by emeritus faculty members and high-quality lecturers.

The focus of Cal Poly Electrical Engineering faculty members is two-fold. First, faculty members combine their considerable industrial and research experience with current projects to offer students an educational experience based in a modern context. The varied faculty interests are evident by the number and quality of projects they develop and supervise. Second, faculty members are dedicated to on-going improvements to the Electrical Engineering curriculum commensurate with technological advancements and to convey current engineering knowledge and practice.

Faculty Interest List


Samuel O. Agbo Professor 20-310 805-756-1528
William L. Ahlgren Associate Professor 20-213 805-756-2309
Dean Y. Arakaki Associate Professor 20-302 805-756-2625
Bridget Benson Assistant Professor 20-309 805-756-5738
David B. Braun Professor 20-304 805-756-1464
Andrew Danowitz Assistant Professor 20-306 805-756-2756
Fred W. DePiero Professor 192-304 805-756-2131
Dennis Derickson Department Chair 20-200 805-756-7584
Dale Dolan Associate Professor (on Leave Spring 2016) 20-205 805-756-2495
Xiaomin Jin Professor 20-315 805-756-7046
Albert Liddicoat Professor 01-314 805-756-5217
Art MacCarley Professor 20-214 805-756-2317
Bryan Mealy Associate Professor 20-300 805-756-2300
Ahmad Nafisi Professor 20-317 805-756-1514
John Y. Oliver Associate Professor, Director of CPE Program 20-215A 805-756-5434
Wayne Pilkington Associate Professor 20-204 805-756-5431
Vladimir Prodanov Associate Professor 20-308 805-756-5393
John A. Saghri Professor 20-312 805-756-1462
Ali O. Shaban Professor 20-305 805-756-2918
Lynne Slivovsky Professor 20-313 805-756-5383
Tina Smilkstein Associate Professor 20-318 805-756-2497
Hugh Smith Professor 14-216 805-756-7542
Taufik Professor, Director of Electric Power Institute 20-203 805-756-2318
Xiao-Hua (Helen) Yu Professor 20-311 805-756-2441
Jane Zhang Professor, Associate Dept. Chair, Graduate Coordinator 20-307 805-756-7528


Kurt Behpour Lecturer 20-118A prefer email
Nazeih Botros Lecturer 20-316 805-756-2404
Mostafa Chinichian Lecturer 20-208 805-756-2149
Steve Dittmann Lecturer 20-118A 805-756-2781
Jeffrey Gerfen Lecturer 20-303 prefer email
Tony Lenz Lecturer 20-118A prefer email
Dan Malone Lecturer 20-314 prefer email
Mike McCarty Lecturer 20-301 email
Clay McKell Lecturer 20-207 805-756-5689
Rich Murray Lecturer EE Lobby (BLD 20A) 805-756-2781
Curtis Nelson Lecturer 20-118A email preferred
Al Pawlowski Lecturer 20-118A 805-756-2781
Gary Perks Lecturer 20-319 805-756-1463
Majid Poshtan Lecturer 20-301 805-756-2763
David Retz Lecturer 20-117 805-756-2781
Nils Rosehr Lecturer 20A-314 email preferred
Patrick Wallen Lecturer 20-117 805-756-2781
Michael Wilson Lecturer 20-314 805-756-5691

Teaching Associates

Craig Fischer Graduate Teaching Associate 20-121 805-756-2781
Angelo Gallardo Graduate Teaching Associate 20-121 prefer email
Sam Jaffe Graduate Teaching Associate 20-200 (Faculty Lobby) 805-756-2781
Loren Kline Graduate Teaching Associate 20-115
Jonnathan Terry Graduate Teaching Associate 20-121 805-756-2781

Faculty Emeritus

Warren Anderson Professor Emeritus
Jerome R. Breitenbach Professor Emeritus
Thomas Chou Professor Emeritus
Michael M. Cirovic Professor Emeritus
Clifford Cloonan Professor Emeritus
Samir Datta Professor Emeritus
Arthur Dickerson Professor Emeritus
Richard Dickey Professor Emeritus
Eugene Fabricius Professor Emeritus
Saul Goldberg Professor Emeritus
Gary Granneman Professor Emeritus
James G. Harris Professor Emeritus
Michael Hawes Professor Emeritus
William Horton Professor Emeritus
Martin E. Kaliski Professor Emeritus 20-301 805-756-2781
John McCombs Professor Emeritus
Wayne McMorran Professor Emeritus
Shien-yi Meng Professor Emeritus
Mahmood Nahvi Professor Emeritus 20-118A 805-756-2781
Richard Sandige Professor Emeritus
Cheng Sun Professor Emeritus 20-316 805-756-2781
Shyama C. Tandon Professor Emeritus
James Tseng Professor Emeritus
Gustav Wassel Professor Emeritus
Donley Winger Professor Emeritus
Harry Wolf Professor Emeritus
Michael T. Wollman Professor Emeritus
Chuan Yeh Professor Emeritus


Jaime Carmo Equipment Technician 20-106 805-756-2647
Yvonne Lynch Administrative Coordinator 20-200 805-756-2782
Robert Randle Network Analyst 20-106 805-756-2550
Lani Woods Administrative Analyst 20-200 805-756-6320